pmp

Have you been involved in creating (or following) a selection plan for digitization?  Who was involved in creating the guidelines, and what were the key points in the plan?  Did you experience any failures?

I worked with a clinic once that had bought Epic and was trying to preempt the project by scanning as many records as they could in order to save time later on. Unfortunately, the leg-work fell to some employees without much experience with computers, medical records OR scanners. All of the files were saved as .txt files and only the fronts had been scanned. We had to start from scratch. This could have been mitigated through proper training or by using computer-savvy resources. It also would have helped to have parceled out the work with built-in checks once they had finished each parcel.

 

Based on both Harvard’s guide and the examples of organizations’ selection criteria linked above, do you think there is an “ideal” set of criteria?  How might this vary by organization type?

In the same way that we’ve talked about metadata, back-end structures, and front end software, I don’t think we’ll ever have “ideal” sets of anything. The choices are based on the values of the organization creating the criteria. If you’re a library specializing in rare materials in a niche interest area, you may not put as much thought into use/traffic as the Library of Congress does. The smaller the community you service or the area of interest you work within, the narrower your criteria could be.

 

My own experience with project management is pretty deep, but completely separate from the world of libraries. I worked as a PM at Epic for 4 years, then as a PM for a year in the infrastructure department of an insurance provider and no I’m a consultant PM for hospitals installing Epic software. I’m hoping to get my PMP and maybe get into the management side of corporate librarianship… we’ll see. In terms of software to track projects, I do love MS project, but only as a basic guide. I LOVE OneNote for tracking and sharing purposes. Having both of those in a shared space really makes a project easier to handle and easier to understand. I was pretty happy to see this section on the syllabus, as it’s something that I’ve been trying to learn more about for a while. If anyone has any resources for PM-ing in the world of libraries, I’d love to see 🙂

3 responses to “

  1. Thanks for your thoughts! I’m trying to get people on-board with OneNote at my office (or at least in my department.) The layout of notebooks, files, and pages makes it simple to organize otherwise seemingly complex projects! Right now my colleagues are still hesitant to use OneNote, instead preferring to keep folders in our local shared-drive, that house out of date word docs and emails. And, as with any technology, OneNote is really only as useful when people use it (and use it to its potential). Any suggestions for getting a team on-board with project management software is welcome!

    • Oh, man. It took me forever to get people on board. Basically, the only way I could do it was to ignore emails for about 2 weeks. I moved all communication and note taking into the notebooks (pre-organized so there weren’t any orphan pages) and then assigned people to take notes during meetings. All follow up tasks and details were in there as well as links to pertinent documents. If you can make it work for the different tasks (meetings, task lists, follow up items, discussions etc.) and demonstrate that, people are more likely to be on board than if you just yell “OneNote”, install it on everyone’s computers and move on 🙂

  2. Yes, I agree there is no “ideal” sets of anything. However, there are some universal guidelines. I like your example of rare material archive vs. LC. The requirements, technical or not, are very different.

    I get more involved in product development. I believe its PM could also be pretty different in nature from product deployment such as in your current consultant job. I believe your deployment experience can be smoothly transferred to DL environments.

Leave a Reply

