Digitization “Mistakes” as Found Art

Have we had a chance to take a look at this tumblr, devoted to mistakes, glitches and the unexpected in Google Books scans? This is one of my very favorite websites of the moment, and I hope you will enjoy it, too.

http://theartofgooglebooks.tumblr.com/

3 responses to “Digitization “Mistakes” as Found Art

  1. I use to save some cool stuff of my hand from when I digitized at UWDC, but I don’t think I have it anymore. Too bad.

  2. Definitely quantity over quality and bad project planning. Perhaps Google did not:

    1. identify quality standards and/or adhere to said standards
    2. hire qualified staff or properly train current staff
    3. have review processes that would allow for detection of mistakes and opportunities to correct them.

Leave a Reply

