Omeka-friendly

Additionally, after reading about and exploring Omeka, through the tutorials and having worked with WordPress for the last few weeks, how do you like working with these open source CMS’? Which one seems more user friendly or are they very similar?

I had an opportunity to register an Omeka account, create a simple  collection, and add appropriate Dublin Core metadata this past summer while taking “Digitization” a 1-credit SLIS intercession course.  Having been exposed to plug-ins and countless theme option through WordPress, I found Omeka extremely user-friendly and easy to get started with.  While we didn’t have time in a one-week course to do more than scan and upload a small collection of postcards, I was struck by how much we accomplished and how there were minimal issues inherent in he interface and overall experience.  Open source CMS are solid solutions for a wide range of consumers and the communities  that surround open source software impresses.  This impression is almost entirely gained from being involved with WordPress graduate course work, in particular last semester Information Architecture course.

Some weariness with Omeka  held onto has already been shared in this forum.  The issues of the minimal storage size initially offered and having to rely on a community of users rather than  vendors held accountable and available when issues arise.  One takes a leap when assuming that these open sourced CMS will have a longevity appropriate to a long term archival project for example.  Is it perhaps better to have accountability and support and pay up front for it?  Or is that an issue not even worth concerning ourselves with, considering that these options are relatively new and bound to evolve?

Regardless, I share others eagerness to dive in and use Omeka in our upcoming assignment.

4 responses to “Omeka-friendly

  1. I also found that Omeka looks and “feels” very similar to WordPress management from the backend. I hope it is as user friendly as WP and I am also really eager to dive in and use Omeka.

  2. I forgot we were in the same digitization class rudrud 🙂 That is where I learned more about Omeka as well and you are spot on – it was surprising how much we learned in that little one-week, one credit class. Although it really was very shallow learning, it was a good way to get a baseline feel of Omeka. I have a feeling that there are more features that can make it more powerful. As soon as I can remember my log in…

  3. Rudrud, you hit the nail on the head with regard to the tradeoff between a community of users engaged in mutual aid vs. an account rep who is standing by, ready to make you happy with regard to your installation of their product. In my own professional life, I have often found that I will opt for the former whenever possible, but this can become extremely frustrating in situations that require a quick and positive resolution and no one responds to your post on the help forum. You can’t exactly compel that, and then what do you do?

    Dedicated support and programming or engineering teams definitely constitutes some of the so-called “value add” of commercial products in many cases.

  4. At one point as an undergrad I was fairly tech savvy and had the chance to learn a lot working in the computer lab at my university library. That was 1995 (I remember when the Internet was first installed in the computer lab!), but I was able to keep learning new skills along the way just as basic HTML. When I started working in a public library five years ago, opportunities to advance my technical skills were significantly less. We have an IT department which handles the normal computer maintenance, help desk, etc. but also integrates any new technology, even creating and posting videos on YouTube.

    I was pleasantly surprised by the ease of use in Omeka. I can’t wait to really dive into our first assignment. It seems as if everyone has had at least some small experience with a CMS so I don’t really have too much say about my experience with Omeka except that my first few tries have gone very well and were far easier than mySQL last semester.

Leave a Reply

