Module 9: Usability and User Experience

Peter Morville's Usability Honeycomb

Peter Morville’s Usability Honeycomb

Welcome to our mid-week transition from project management into UX – user experience, and usability! I am so thrilled to be presenting this content to you; I have not seen this in many digital libraries curricula, and yet UX is a key component to the systems we develop, work within and ask users to navigate! I can’t wait to hear your thoughts. lsteckervitz and spd, this week’s discussion leaders, have started us off with some _great_ questions, so be sure to check out her post.

Also, stay tuned for a screencast on Learn this week with information about Assignment 2. Thanks!

2 responses to “Module 9: Usability and User Experience

  1. How fortuitous! I have been looking at jobs, internships and fellowships out there (in anticipation of an August grad date) and I have been seeing UX and UI all over the place. This is the first it really crossed my radar so of course I had to explore it some more.
    In order to not seem like a complete moron when I go on an interview, I have started exploring some reference materials on the subject. I found the following:
    -UX/UI Bibliography – free on Kindle
    -A Project Guide to UX Design: For user experience designers in the field or in the making (kind of pricey)
    – Communicating the User Experience: A Practical Guide for Creating Useful UX Documentation
    I haven’t had time to dive into any of them except for the bibliography, but I am hoping to get to them when the semester’s word winds down.

    Does anyone else have other sources they like?

Leave a Reply

